Monday, December 21, 2015

Book Deal for WITCH OF NOVEMBER!

So this happened:


I am over the moon. I know I just posted about another book deal below for QUACKERY, which is adult nonfiction. Well, it's been almost three years since my last YA book deal, which was CATALYST. And I have written many things since that time, but this book is so special to me. I adored every minute of writing this book. It's a touch more literary for me, it's not sci-fi like my previous books, and it's more diverse book than I'd done before (one of the main characters is half Korean, half Black.) And I've been haunted by the song, The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald by Gordon Lightfoot since I first heard it as a child, which mentions the Witch of November (here it is on YouTube.)

Here's the pitch that I had given to my agent:

Hector is a troubled teen, running from a violent secret.

Anda is the physical embodiment of the storms that sink the great ships of Lake Superior every November.

Isle Royale is the island on the lake, deserted every winter because it’s so inhospitable that no human can bear to live there.

No one is supposed to be on the island. One is fleeing the violence in his life; the other has violence running through her veins. Together, they will unearth secrets and truths that could destroy or save each other.

At 70,000 words, THE WITCH OF NOVEMBER is a YA mix of magical realism, contemporary issues, and romance. The novel will appeal to fans of Nova Ren Suma’s Imaginary Girls, Michelle Hodkin’s The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood.

I'm thrilled to be working with the Entangled Teen team, including my editor, Kate Brauning (who is a talented YA author as well--her book HOW WE FALL is pretty amazing. :)

The book will be out in later summer or early Fall 2017. I'm so excited to share it with you!

Follow Kate Brauning on Twitter, and please add THE WITCH OF NOVEMBER to your Goodreads TBR list!